<kbd id="xj1irdmn"></kbd><address id="5u5h7rhb"><style id="nq9jx04h"></style></address><button id="9zqtw4zg"></button>

          Master Teaching Chair Program

          Since the founding of our predecessor school in 1906, the Terrill School for Boys, our mission to develop boys into good men remains fundamental to all we do.
          At St. Mark’s School of Texas, we believe that great teachers are the stewards of our mission, so we commit significant resources to provide our faculty with professional experiences, best-in-class facilities, and necessary materials to support their work with the boys in the classroom, on the playing fields, in fine arts spaces, and across campus. This priority reflects our long-standing commitment to achieving excellence in the classroom.

          St. Mark’s has been blessed with a long history of exceptional teachers, individuals who have given decades of service to their students and their craft. St. Mark’s understands the need to build upon this tradition and further strengthen the School’s longstanding dedication to great teaching.

          The Master Teaching Chair program was established to attract and retain the very best teachers from across the country. From its inception, Master Teaching Chair positions have been filled by teachers who are leaders in their fields; men and women who are not only effective educators, but who also provide daily inspiration and motivation to students and colleagues alike. 
          We hope that every teacher thrives and contributes while at St. Mark’s, and Master Teachers carry an additional responsibility for nurturing an environment of collaboration, collegiality, and professionalism.
          When a teaching position becomes available at St. Mark’s, the School conducts a national search to find the most qualified educator who will thrive and contribute on campus. When searching for a Master Teacher candidate, the School seeks qualified teachers with at least ten years of teaching experience in his or her discipline. These teachers are expected to be outstanding in the classroom, to serve as leaders within the school, and to provide leadership in local, state, regional, and national topics pertaining to their disciplines.
          What began in the early 1960s as a way to honor and reward exceptional teaching has evolved into a program that has transformed the way St. Mark’s compensates all of its faculty members, enabling salaries that are the highest in the region and among the best in the country. Because the compensation of our Master Teaching Chairs is endowed, additional funds are available to provide competitive salaries and benefits to the entire faculty. St. Mark’s faculty salaries are, by a considerable margin, among the highest in the region and in the top 10 percent among large day schools nationally. Today, nearly one third of our teachers have served St. Mark’s for at least 20 years, including many who have served 30, 40, and even 50 years.

          Master Teaching Chairs and Endowed Faculty Positions are funded through the endowment with commitments of $1.5 million and $1 million, respectively. Currently, St. Mark’s has 16 endowed Master Teaching Chairs and four Endowed Faculty Positions, including Department Chairs and the Head of School.


          Endowed Master Teaching Chairs

          Cecil H. and Ida Green Master Teaching Chair in Science

          Stephen N. Balog, Ph.D.
          B.S., University of Texas at El Paso
          M.S., Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

          Victor F. White Master Teaching Chair in English

          David M. Brown
          B.A., Oral Roberts University
          M.A., San Diego State University
          M.F.A., Pennsylvania State University

          Ackerman Family Master Teaching Chair in Lower School

          Kay Carrio
          B.S., Texas Tech University
          M.A., Southern Methodist University

          Leonard N. “Doc” Nelson Alumni Master Teaching Chair

          Paul C. Hoehn
          B.A., University of Colorado Boulder
          M.S., University of Texas at Dallas

          Arnold E. Holtberg Master Teaching Chair

          Scott Hunt
          B.S., M.F.A., Texas A&M University - Commerce

          J. J. Connolly Master Teaching Chair

          Nancy Marmion
          A.B., College of William & Mary
          M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

          Cecil H. and Ida Green Master Teaching Chair

          Marsha L. McFarland
          B.A., Southern Methodist University
          M.A., Middlebury College

          Eugene McDermott Master Teaching Chair in Science

          John S. Mead
          B.A., M.A.T., Duke University

          Thomas S. Adams Master Teaching Chair

          Rebecca Jenkins
          B.S., University of Texas at Austin

          Sally & Edward Genecov Master Teaching Chair

          Amy J. Pool
          B.S., M.S., Portland State University

          Founders’ Master Teaching Chair

          Douglas C. Rummel
          B.S., Oregon State University
          M.A.T., University of Texas at Dallas

          Malcolm K. and Minda Brachman Master Teaching Chair

          Martin Stegemoeller, Ph.D.
          B.A., Northwestern University
          M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

          Suzanne and Patrick McGee Family Master Teaching Chair in Mathematics

          Joe Milliet
          B.S., Tulane University
          M.Ed., Lamar University

          Trustee Master Teaching Chair

          Lynne M. Weber
          B.A., University of California, Los Angeles
          M.A., University of Dallas

          Gene and Alice Oltrogge Master Teaching Chair

          Ray Westbrook
          B.S., Texas State University, San Marcos

          Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Master Teaching Chair

          Bruce C. Westrate, Ph.D.
          B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Michigan – Ann Arbor

          Endowed Faculty Positions

          In addition to Master Teaching Chairs, St. Mark’s also maintains several Endowed Faculty Positions. These positions carry different responsibilities than Master Teaching Chairs and are tailored toward supporting the administration of the School. Endowed Faculty Positions honor the impact of the departments they fill.

          Eugene McDermott Headmaster

          David W. Dini
          B.A., M.L.A., Southern Methodist University

          Stephen M. Seay ’68 Science Department Chair

          Fletcher Carron
          B.S., Rice University

          Ahlberg & Ribman Family Director of Alumni Relations

          Alex Eshelbrenner ’04
          B.A., University of Kansas

          Tony Vintcent Fine Arts Department Chair

          Marion Glorioso-Kirby
          B.F.A., University of Oklahoma School of Drama
          M.L.A., Southern Methodist University.

          Thomas B. Walker III ’73 Mathematics Department Chair

          Shane May
          B.S., University of Houston
          M.Ed., Houston Baptist University 

          Al G. Hill ’63 Director of College Counseling

          Veronica Pulido
          B.A., M.S., University of Notre Dame

          St. Mark’s School of Texas

          10600 Preston Road
          Dallas, Texas 75230


          About Us

          St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, nonsectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.

          St. Mark’s does not discriminate in the administration of its admission and education policies on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national or ethnic origin.

              <kbd id="u2jk1p6t"></kbd><address id="65koan44"><style id="nmwg32od"></style></address><button id="fcxf4h5b"></button>